11 September 2015

Image of Graduation Ceremony 2015

The Class of 2015 joined us with their family and friends at The Floral Pavilion’s Blue Lounge in New Brighton on Wednesday 9th September, to celebrate their recent success and officially graduate from Wirral’s No.1 Sixth Form.

The Ceremony recognised the hard work and dedication our graduates have delivered during their time at The Sixth Form College - which has led to the College seeing its 9th consecutive year of record breaking results. More students than ever before achieved prestigious A*, A and B grades and record numbers applied to Universities across the country, making the Class of 2015 our most successful ever

Principal Kathryn Podmore, welcomed graduates and guests to the Ceremony and congratulated our Class of 2015 on all that they have achieved. Special guest speaker, Mike Morris, UK Manager of Microsoft, delivered the Keynote speech to talk of the exciting times that lie ahead for our former students and the importance of hard work and personal attributes when forging a career.

All Graduates were presented with honorary scrolls and a number of students were awarded prizes for achievement and subject honours – see below for full list of awards.

Chair of Governors, Lyn Eaton thanked our students for their dedication and to the staff at The Sixth Form College for the efforts they made in ensuring our students achieved their full potential. The Ceremony concluded with a speech from our newly appointed Head Students, Breandán Fawcett and Ellie Jones, who thanked all involved in the ceremony and wished our graduates well in their future endeavours.

Thanks goes out to all of the staff and students involved for their help and support in making the evening a success. Most importantly, we would like to congratulate our Graduates once again for their success and wish each and every one of the Class of 2015 all the best for the future.

View a selection of photos from the evening below:

Graduation 2015

Don’t forget you are now part of our alumni – keep in touch via Facebook and Twitter or email marketing@bsfc.ac.uk to let us know what you are up to in the future.


The Sixth Form College Awards:
Outstanding Academic Achievement: Melanie Squires
Outstanding Vocational Achievement: Lauren Clay
Outstanding Sporting Achievement: Dave Roberts
Outstanding Artistic Achievement: Dasha Kruglyakova / Hannah Matthews / Max Palmer / Elizabeth Pennington / Luke Ravenscroft / Megan Richie / Christopher White
The Head Student Award: Kirsty McLaren / Tom McNally


Subject Awards:
Art & Design: Lewis Langan
Biology: Joseph Murphy
Business: Louis Brown
Chemistry: Ben Green
Childcare: Sophie Astle
Dance: Zoe Jackman
Design Technology: Bala Sundralingham
Economics: Chloe Spree
English: Sian Jones
Film Studies: Luke Ravenscroft
Forensic Science: Sophie Hendy
French: Phoebe Harrison
Government & Politics: Liam Roberts
Geography: Samantha Taylor
History: Sarah Daly
Health & Social Care: Annabel Webster
ICT: Harry Allan
Law: Esther Alawode
Mathematics: Max Anderson
Medical Science: Katherine Brown
Performing Arts: Ellie Watson
Physics: Max Anderson
Psychology: Brooke Kingsland
Religious Studies: Jennie Wood
Sociology: Kelsie Plevin
Spanish: Jack Spencer
Sport: Mihal Abraham
Theatre Studies: James Dawson


Leavers Photos are available for the Class of 2015 to download here.

Note - We would like to extend special thanks to pianist Stephen Mannings – Director of Wirral’s Community Choir for performing for the graduates and guests throughout the evening; Manor Garden Centre, for providing the beautiful filled troughs for the ceremony and their continued support managing the college grounds; and The Floral Pavilion, New Brighton for allowing the use of their wonderful venue and their dedicated team of staff who provided invaluable support on the evening.

Tags: Wirral A Level Birkenhead Student Alumni Graduation

Educate Awards - Most Inspirational Sixth Form
Educate North College of the Year 2023
TES Shortlist
Quality in Careers
CE Certified
BePART Educational Trust
Sixth Form Colleges Association
Duke of Edinburgh Gold Award